Saturday, September 12, 2009

Walking On Omaha - Turn 2 Amphib and Event Phases

OK, maybe not a few days. This is an easy entry to post, as we've been through most of this process before.

This time in the Amphibious Operations phase, we use the Turn 2-3 chart, taking into account that some of the units on specific landing zones will use different rows than others. We still have a special row just for tanks, though. This table is slightly kinder and gentler, reflecting that now the commanders have a slightly better idea of what's awaiting them. It's still grim, though. Here is the East sector after checking the table, moving units onshore, and placing the units for the next turn. Note that some units are given entry areas rather than specific landing boxes (for example, EF instead of EF2), which means you place them anywhere in that range. HQs and Generals, which enter later, often have no code at all, and can be placed in any landing box in that sector.

Here's the West sector:

Finally, note that there are not many units coming in next turn. In fact, these are the tank units from turn one that were delayed - there are no specified reinforcements that enter on turn 2. I may have delayed these units less than they should have been, and they may be coming in on turn 3 instead (in which case, ignore them for now and I'll have them in their correct places for the turn 3 recaps).

Again, this is a quick phase, and you should know that drift can still completely screw up where units land. It is possible to delay their entry if you wish, maybe even after they drift although I'm not clear on this particular rule.

Now, we get to do our first Event card! Yay!

In case you can't blow up the photo, there are two events listed on the card: one for turns 2-20, the other for turns 21-31. Obviously, we look at the event for the former case, which reads: "Place a German reinforcement in Zone E (9.3)." Immediately next to the card on the left is a reinforcement space, identified by the heavy colored dashed line around it. In fact, you can see a few, some with an alphanumeric designator such as E1, E3, E5, or F1, some with VP markers, some with triangles pointing to specific spaces. For now, we are only concerned with the alphanumerics, as they help determine which space the unit goes in.

First of all, the reinforcement unit comes from the Tactical Reinforcement box early on. There are several reinforcement boxes for the Germans, both in terms of Depth markers and additional units. Note also that you don't reinforce the WN spaces, although it is possible that Depth markers will be added to them. Reinforcements can only have one unit per hex (and one Depth marker), are placed face down without knowing what is in them, and will only go in the spaces with alphanumeric designators. [Clarification: Depth markers are not placed as a result of a reinforcement event, only units are placed.] There is a priority as to where they go, but it's primarily concerned with spaces adjacent or near US units, and there are no US units this far inland at this point. As such, the priority list ends up with us placing it in the lowest numbered E space on the map without a unit in it, in this case E1. In the photo, I have placed the unit down and to the left so that you can see the E1 space clearly, but it will of course be put right over the E1 marking.

Note also that noe of the other portions of the card are used, only the event pertaining to the appropriate turn number. However, this example does let you see the Landing section of a card for the first time, and the various symbols associated with it. Of some interest is the sunburst on the far right of the Landing section, which refers to Mine Explosions and is of no interest until the tide rises later in the game, but it's worth noting for now because we're here and so is the symbol.

Next up, the Turn 2 German Fire phase and we get to start clearing beach obstacles! Woot!

No comments: